DeepSeek V4-Pro vs Gemini 3.7 Flash
Update: Google has since released Gemini 3.8 Flash, which supersedes Gemini 3.7 Flash as the current workhorse model. The comparison below reflects 3.7 Flash as released, and the pricing and benchmark tradeoffs are still broadly representative, but check the Gemini guide for the current Flash version before making a decision based on exact numbers.
Quick Answer
DeepSeek V4-Pro and Gemini 3.7 Flash are both, in their own ways, efficiency-focused models rather than maximum-capability flagships, but they get there differently. V4-Pro is a large, open-leaning Mixture-of-Experts model with a genuinely low per-token price and a track record of open weights in its family. Gemini 3.7 Flash is Google’s fast, closed, general-availability workhorse, deeply integrated into Google’s ecosystem and tuned specifically for coding and agent workflows. Neither is trying to be the single most capable model available; both are trying to be the model you use for most of your actual work.
At a Glance
| DeepSeek V4-Pro | Gemini 3.7 Flash | |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | DeepSeek | Google DeepMind |
| Released (GA) | August 13, 2026 | August 13, 2026 |
| Total parameters | 1.6 trillion | Not publicly disclosed |
| Active parameters | ~49 billion | Not publicly disclosed |
| Architecture | Mixture-of-Experts | Not publicly disclosed |
| Context window | 1,000,000 tokens | 1,000,000 tokens |
| Max output | 384,000 tokens | 64,000 tokens |
| Input price (per million tokens) | $0.435 | $0.75 (intro, through Dec 31, 2026) |
| Output price (per million tokens) | $0.87 | $3.75 (intro, through Dec 31, 2026) |
| Open weights | Track record in V4 family; confirm current status | No, closed |
| Ecosystem | DeepSeek API, third-party providers | Google AI, Vertex AI, Workspace integration |
What Is DeepSeek V4-Pro?
DeepSeek V4-Pro is the larger, more capable model in DeepSeek’s V4 family, reaching general availability on August 13, 2026. It’s a 1.6-trillion-parameter Mixture-of-Experts model with about 49 billion active parameters per token, a 1M-token context window, and up to 384K tokens of output, positioned above the cheaper V4-Flash for harder agent and reasoning tasks.
What Is Gemini 3.7 Flash?
Gemini 3.7 Flash is Google’s current fast, general-availability workhorse model, released the same day as V4-Pro, August 13, 2026, just three weeks after Gemini 3.6 Flash. It’s built for coding and agent work, with a 1M-token context window, 64K max output, and tunable thinking levels, and Google reports meaningfully improved first-pass code accuracy over the previous Flash version.
Pricing: A Real Gap, With Caveats
On listed per-token price, DeepSeek V4-Pro is noticeably cheaper: roughly 40% less on input and closer to 75-77% less on output compared to Gemini 3.7 Flash’s introductory rates, and the gap widens further once Gemini’s post-introductory pricing ($1.50/$7.50) takes effect after December 31, 2026. That’s a real difference for high-volume workloads. But cost per completed task, not price per token, is what actually determines total spend: a model that needs more retries, more turns, or produces output that needs more correction can still cost more overall despite a lower sticker price. Test both against your actual workflow before assuming the cheaper listed price wins.
Context Window and Output
Both share the same 1M-token context window, so neither has an edge on how much they can hold in a single request. Output capacity is where they diverge sharply: V4-Pro’s 384K max output tokens is six times Gemini 3.7 Flash’s 64K ceiling, which matters for tasks that need to generate large amounts of output in one pass, like a substantial code migration or a long document draft, rather than working in smaller chunks.
Coding and Agent Performance
Both models lean hard into coding and agent positioning, and both report strong, but vendor-specific, results. DeepSeek reports V4-Pro’s GA release scoring 62.7 on its own DeepSWE benchmark, a large jump from the preview version’s 12.8. Google reports Gemini 3.7 Flash beating the previous Flash version on FrontierCode 1.1 Main (43.6% vs 34.4%) and DeepSWE v1.1 (65.3% vs 49.0%). These aren’t directly comparable numbers, different benchmarks, different baselines, so don’t read them as a head-to-head score. What they do show is that both labs are specifically optimizing this tier of model for coding and agent workloads, not just general chat.
Open vs. Closed, Without Assuming a Winner
DeepSeek’s V4 family has a track record of open-weight releases, V4-Flash shipped under an MIT license, and that openness matters if self-hosting, avoiding vendor lock-in, or full data control are priorities for you. Gemini 3.7 Flash is closed and API-only, but it comes with Google’s infrastructure reliability, Workspace integration, and a broader ecosystem of tooling around it. Neither of these is automatically the better choice; it depends on whether you value control and potential self-hosting, or integration and infrastructure backing, more.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose DeepSeek V4-Pro if per-token cost, larger output capacity, or the option (pending confirmation) of self-hosting matter most to your workflow. Choose Gemini 3.7 Flash if you’re already working inside Google’s ecosystem, want a closed model backed by Google’s infrastructure and reliability, or your workload doesn’t need V4-Pro’s larger output ceiling. For teams evaluating both, run your actual coding or agent tasks against each rather than relying on either lab’s own benchmark numbers.
Keep Exploring
- Tools: DeepSeek, Gemini
- Related: Qwen3.8-27B vs DeepSeek V4-Flash, Gemini vs DeepSeek
- Glossary: Cost per Completed Task, Model Routing, Model Escalation
- Guide: How to Estimate an AI Agent’s Cost
Continue learning
Explore related guides, tools, workflows, and prompts that help you go deeper into this topic.
See more AI tool comparisons
Browse all side-by-side AI tool comparisons on Ainanza.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is cheaper, DeepSeek V4-Pro or Gemini 3.7 Flash?
DeepSeek V4-Pro, on listed per-token price: $0.435 input / $0.87 output per million tokens versus Gemini 3.7 Flash's introductory $0.75/$3.75 (rising to $1.50/$7.50 after December 31, 2026). Per-token price isn't the whole story for agent work, though, see the cost-per-completed-task discussion below.
Which has open weights?
DeepSeek's V4 family has a track record of open-weight releases (V4-Flash shipped under MIT license); check DeepSeek's current documentation to confirm V4-Pro's specific licensing status. Gemini 3.7 Flash is a closed, API-only model from Google with no self-hosting option.
Which is better for coding?
Both report strong coding results on their own benchmarks: DeepSeek V4-Pro scored 62.7 on DeepSeek's DeepSWE benchmark at GA, up sharply from its preview version, and Gemini 3.7 Flash shows meaningfully higher first-pass code accuracy than the previous Flash version on Google's own FrontierCode and DeepSWE evaluations. Both are vendor-reported; test on your own codebase before choosing based on benchmarks alone.
Should I use Gemini 3.7 Flash just because it's a 'Flash' model?
Don't assume Flash means lesser. It means optimized for speed and cost over maximum ceiling capability, which is the right tradeoff for a large share of real work. The same logic applies to V4-Pro's positioning within DeepSeek's own lineup relative to a frontier model outside the V4 family.
Last updated: